Center School Nurse Lindsay Vickers - 364-3249 - email@example.com
We are very fortunate to have Nurse Lindsay Vickers at Center School. Her responsibilities include immediate first aid, consultations as a member of the student services team, and availability to discuss any medical issues you may have regarding your child.
Medicines can only be administered to a student when a signed physician’s order and District 135 medical administration form are both completed and turned in to the office. This policy is inclusive of both prescription and over-the-counter medication. The medication must be brought to school by the parent or guardian in the original properly labeled container.
The nurse can not diagnose illness or attend to injuries that have occurred outside of the school day.
Below are some guidelines for you to use when deciding if your child is too ill to attend school.
Keep your child home if…
- Your child’s oral temperature exceeds 100 degrees or 1 to 2 degrees above your child’s normal temperature. A child with a fever should remain home for 24 hours after the temperature returns to normal without the use of fever-reducing medication.
- Your child vomits and/or has diarrhea and continues to experience nausea and/or cramping.
- A rash is present. Rashes must be evaluated by a physician and deemed non-contagious before they return to school. Please send documentation of the doctor’s visit to school upon the student’s return.
- Your child shows signs of upper respiratory infection (cold symptoms) severe enough to interfere with the child’s ability to learn.
- There are signs of “pink eye” (Conjunctivitis) with matter coming from one or both eyes, itching, and/or crusts on eyelids. The child must be evaluated by a physician and deemed non-contagious before they return to school. Please send documentation of the doctor’s visit to school upon the student’s return.
- There are open sores that appear to be weeping that have not been evaluated by a physician.
- There are signs of live lice. The child must be treated with a lice killing shampoo. Please contact the nurse, prior to the student’s return.
- Upon returning to school, you may request that your child remain inside for recess for up to 3 days. A physician’s note is required for an extended period of time.
EXCUSES FOR P.E. OR RECESS
Students may be excused from P.E. and/or recess with a note from their parent/guardian for a period of no more than three days if they are ill or injured, but still well enough to be in school. After that, a note from a physician is required.
By law, all children entering school for the first time in Illoinis, and all sixth graders must present evidence of recent physical examination and of immunizations against certain diseases before the first day of school. These records must be turned into the school nurse’s office by the beginning of the school year. All kindergarteners must have their vision examined by an eye doctor. Any student who is not in compliance with the law will be excluded from school until the medical records are updated.
Also, all Illinois children in kindergarten, second and sixth grades will be required to have an oral health examination. Each child shall present proof of examination, by a dentist, prior to May 15th.
HEARING AND VISION SCREENING
School District 135 conducts hearing and vision screening as mandated by the Illinois School Code. At Center School, all students are screened for hearing.
Vision screening will be done, as mandated, for the following children: kindergarten, second grade, new students, teacher referrals, and students receiving special services. Screenings typically are done in the fall and as needed. Vision screening is not a substitute for a complete eye and vision evaluation by an eye doctor. Your child is not required to undergo this vision screening if an optometrist or ophthalmologist has completed and signed a report form indicating that an examination has been administered within the previous 12 months and that evaluation is on file at the school. Vision screening in school is not an option. A vision examination must be on file at Center. If that is not the case, your child in the mandated age/grade/group will be screened.