Return to Headlines

D135 Honors Outgoing Board Members

Orland School District 135 recognized two outgoing Board Members during a special Board reorganization meeting on Monday, May 1st at the Administration Center. Dave Shalabi and Tara Hardek were elected in April, 2019 to each serve a four year term on the Board of Education. During his tenure, Shalabi, a D135 alum and District parent, served as co-chairperson on the Communications and Technology Board Advisory Committees from 2019-21, as well as co-chair for the Personnel, Policy & Communications Committee from 2021-23. Shalabi also served as Vice President from 2021-2023. Hardek, also a D135 parent, served as co-chairperson on the Communications Committee from 2019-21 while on the Board, as well as the Finance/Operations Committee co-chair from 2021-23. 

During their four year terms, Hardek and Shalabi, along with other Board members, approved two five-year contracts for the certified and classified staff, approved construction projects at five District buildings scheduled to begin in June 2023, served through the COVID-19 pandemic, and supported the start of the STARS before/after school care program, among other achievements. 

During the Board meeting on May 1, Superintendent John Bryk expressed gratitude for the service with a proclamation summarazing all the hard work that was done during their time on the Board.